School Awards

2020-21 Awards

St. Ailbe’s Students excel once again


Despite the social distancing and attention to all covid related restrictions, a very warm and nostalgic atmosphere enveloped the final day in school for our outgoing Sixth Year group.This year’s graduation and annual awards ceremony was a far cry from the usual packed sport’s hall, when students, family and staff could reflect on the successes, highlights and memories of the previous year.

However, despite the Pandemic restrictions, our sixth year students did themselves proud, with a very poignant and positive reflection on their time in St. Ailbe’s. School Principal, Mr. Ruaidhri Devitt, paid tribute to the progress the sixth year group had made during those six years. Indeed, progress and taking care of oneself and others, were the general themes of all speakers, including Deputy Principal Mr. Kieran O’Dwyer, Sixth Year Year-head, Ms. Siobhan Hall and our school chaplain, Fr. Beatty. Well done to Ms. Hall and Ms. Collins for a wonderfully organised afternoon.

Finally, on behalf of everyone at St. Ailbe’s, we would like to thank this year’s Leaving Cert class for their immense contribution to school life and we wish them all the very best in their forthcoming exams and in their future lives.


This year, we once again took the opportunity to acknowledge our students who excelled during the course of the academic year. We take pride in everyone who comes through our doors and normally our awards cover a very extensive spectrum of categories. However, this year’s awards were, once again, curtailed due to covid restrictions.

In a very brief but significant ceremony, it was announced that our Junior Cycle Awards went to Darragh O’Sullivan (First Year), Zoe Ryan (Second Year) and Emma Roche (Third Year). These awards were an acknowledgement for the sustained high levels of work and achievement attained by these students throughout the year and especially during the course of the lockdown.

In addition to these, St. Ailbe’s awarded Conor Quinlan and Rory Sampson the 2020 Transition Year Students of the Year. Likewise, this year’s T.Y. Student of the Year went to the hard working and committed Ella Morrissey. All three students were recognized for their involvement and dedication to all the elements of a very broad transition Year programme.

Fifth Year, Rory Sampson was again honored for achieving top marks in his 2019 Junior Certificate exams, as was Karina Shastak, who also achieved fantastic results in her Junior Cert exams in 2020. Both students were very deserving recipients of this prestigious award.

Finally, when it came to our annual Student of the Year Award, Mr. Devitt spoke of the success criteria that influence the selection process every year.

Qualities such as leadership, work ethic, involvement in all aspects of extra-curricular life, courteousness towards staff and fellow students, attendance and punctuality, empathy and integrity, were all high up on the list when considering the overall winner. Several students were nominated, but it was no surprise when it was announced that this year’s Student of the Year had gone to Brid Nash. Once again, a very deserving recipient, we would like to congratulate Brid on her accomplishments and wish her the very best going forward.


2019/20 Online Awards 

Class of 2020!

Academic Awards 2020

Sports Awards 2020

Students of the Year including Sports Person

Music Awards Intro 2020

Overall Music Awards 2019-20

Footsteps on Friday Awards 

Physical Activities Awards 2020 

TY End of Year 2020

6th Years Musicals through the years

Can’s Stop the Beat

Entrepreneurial Awards 2020

2018/19 Awards Ceremony

A major event at the end of the school year is the Awards Ceremony where students are presented with awards in various areas such as sporting, attendance, Student of the Year, etc. Trophies and certificates are presented in the various categories.

2017/18 Awards Ceremony

2016/17 Awards Ceremony